Communication Breakdowns Results in Disgruntled Consumers – Dumb Marketing Moves

This week’s Dumb Marketing Move goes to: University Crossings.

As a college student I wanted ease of access, so when I signed up for my apartment I had to opted for an automatic monthly payment. I figured that it would be easier than having to remember to go to the office every month and bring a check, but in the end it was not.

There were no problems up until May, when the automated service was changed, without any notification for the residents. I was sent a letter in mid-May stating that I was being evicted and had ten days to vacant the apartment. I was shocked, to say the least.

I called the office and told them that is was a mistake because I paid my rent. I was informed that they had not received my May rent therefore the eviction letter was sent. I checked my bank account and saw that, in fact, that was true. What I wasn’t told by the main office was that they changed their system and no longer took automated payments.

This frustrated and annoyed me because as a company that should be in communication with its leasers, did not email, call or in any other way inform the residents of the pending changes. It resulted in a lot of chaos that could have been easily avoided and the loss of many residents.

Lesson Learned: An ill-informed customer is not a happy customer. Make sure your company is user friendly. If you’re changing something major that affects your customers, have a plan to inform your customers. Make sure your employees are able to help your customers if they have questions and put it in writing. Send a letter to each customer, as well as a reminder email or letter.

__________________________________________________________________________________

“Outthink the Competition Rather Than Outspend Them”

Author: Leslie Wolff, CEO of Smart Marketing Group, speaks from experience as an entrepreneur, sales and marketing executive plus advisor and coach. Les has “walked the walk and talked the talk.” The knowledge that he imparts with passion has been learned in the toughest of schools, “Real Life!”, in the trenches, on top of the mountain and everywhere in between.

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Marketing Tips

Leave a Reply

