Personalized Attention Makes for Happy Consumers – Smart Marketing Move

This week’s Smart Marketing Move goes to PetSmart.

PetSmart is huge and overwhelming if you’re looking for one specific item, as I was this one day. I was looking for a urinary tract infection paste product for my cat. I have never bought it before so I must have been looking really confused in the maintenance section.

There were two employees on the next aisle over that could see me. The one that was stocking the shelves closest to me simply asked, “Do you need any help?” This was one of the few times that I actually did when someone asked me.

She came over and helped me find what I needed with my vague description and then she said, “Hang on a second, I think we have something over here too.” They were changing out brands they were using for all of the over-the-counter medication and she brought over the same exact thing for $3 instead of $9.

I was shocked. First off, this is a big chain and I don’t expect good customer service. Second, she went way above and beyond, saving me $6. It adds up! I wish I got her name, she deserves praise because I’m sure that I’m not the only person that she helps that much.

Lesson Learned: Going above and beyond is not just a personality trait, it can be taught. A little bit of kindness can go a long way and bring customers back to your store. Make sure you say hello to customers, treat everyone the same, and if someone is looking confused like I was they definitely need help…so help them. You’ll have a happy customer and they’ll tell others. Word of Mouth Marketing – use it to your advantage.

________________________________________________________________________________

“Outthink the Competition Rather Than Outspend Them”

Author: Leslie Wolff, CEO of Smart Marketing Group, speaks from experience as an entrepreneur, sales and marketing executive plus advisor and coach. Les has “walked the walk and talked the talk.” The knowledge that he imparts with passion has been learned in the toughest of schools, “Real Life!”, in the trenches, on top of the mountain and everywhere in between

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Marketing Tips

Leave a Reply

